THE 8TH: Film & Call-to-Action Conversation

In the wake of SB8, join us for a special event on October 14th at 8:00pm ET/7:00pm CT/5:00pm PT

Please join us for the live Call-to-Action Conversation  “What WE Can Do NOW,”  with Kathryn Kolbert and Julie K. Fay, authors of Controlling Women: What We Must Do Now to Save Reproductive Freedom, as well as Aideen Kane, co-director of The 8th, and Ailbhe Smyth, one of the featured subjects of the film. This extraordinary conversation will be moderated by GirlTalkHQ founder Asha Dahya.  The virtual live conversation, which is free and open to the public, will be available on both the rePRO website and rePRO’s YouTube page on October 14th at 8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT.  Though you’ll only be able to engage and ask questions during this time, the recording of the conversation will then live on both platforms thereafter.

This conversation will be featured alongside a weekend virtual “on-demand” screening of the pro-choice documentary The 8th – open to view and available throughout the US from October 14th at 11am ET/10am CT/8am PT to October 17th at 11pm ET/10pm CT/8pm PT. Tickets are $10 and can be purchased through the link below.

Call-to-Action Conversation: FREE

The first 20 people to purchase a screening ticket will be notified that they will receive a complimentary copy of Controlling Women: What We Must Do Now to Save Reproductive Freedom.

  Closed Captions available
Note: This film contains flickering or flashing lights that may affect those with photosensitive epilepsy.

The 8th traces Ireland’s campaign to remove the 8th Amendment –

a constitutional ban on abortion. It shows a country’s transformation from a conservative state in thrall to the Catholic church to a more liberal secular society. The film includes voices from both sides of the debate, but its primary focus is on the dynamic female leaders of the pro-choice campaign. The film follows veteran campaigner Ailbhe Smyth and self-described glitter-activist Andrea Horan as they chart a bold strategy of grassroots activism and engineer the impossible. This dramatic story is underscored by a vivid exploration of the wrenching failures that led to this defining moment in Irish history. An urgent narrative, a cautionary tale and a roadmap for progressive reforms in a modern era where authoritarianism is on the rise,  The 8th shows a country forging a new progressive path when reproductive rights are threatened all over the world.

PRESENTING SPONSOR

Thank you to our programming partners, the female-founded and helmed:

MEDIA SPONSOR

rePRO advocates for women’s* reproductive health care, justice, and bodily autonomy. Through film and conversation, we lift intersectional issues, using the power of storytelling as a catalyst for knowledge, intention, and action.  *cis, trans, and non-binary inclusive

X