ChangemakeHER Award

rePRO Film Fest will present its second ChangemakeHER Award to Jonelle Procope, President & CEO of the legendary Apollo Theater.

presented on Monday, August 16th at 6:30pm ET / 5:30pm CT / 3:30pm PT

Procope is interviewed by Alexis McGill Johnson,
President and CEO, Planned Parenthood Federation of America.

Since 2003, Jonelle Procope has led the Apollo, an American cultural treasure and vibrant non-profit organization that is rooted in the Harlem community but that speaks to, and welcomes, people from around New York, the nation and the world. Under her leadership, the Apollo has remained steadfast in its commitment to meeting the needs of its community while standing firm it what is has always been — a beacon for Black artists and contemporary culture, and a catalyst for social and civic advocacy.

Through its nearly 90-year history, the Apollo has continued to present emerging talent and legendary performers through its annual music, theater, dance, and comedy offerings, as well as its educational programming that engages more than 20,000 students, teachers, familiars, and scholars annually, uniting communities in Harlem and beyond through internship programs, career panels, and discussions on intersectional issues.

The rePRO team is excited to honor Procope for her commitment to the art of storytelling – particularly supporting people from historically marginalized communities – and its power to humanize lived experiences and catalyze important dialogue that can incite advocacy and awareness in a wholly unique way.

X